Friday, September 10, 2010

Old Town City Manager Receives Leadership Award

NORTHPORT, MAINE – The Maine Town and City Management Association has recognized Old Town City Manager Peggy Daigle with its 2010 Leadership Award, given to a manager in recognition for a particularly innovative project or for solving an unusually difficult problem. The award was presented to Ms. Daigle at the 65th Annual Manager’s Institute, held last month at the Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center in Northport.

“The City of Old Town has so much going on right now – and it’s a lot of progress that the citizens of this community can be proud of,” City Manager Daigle said. “It’s true that we’re living in an economically difficult time, but our community is full of forward thinking people who are able to look ahead and see the opportunities that are in front of us. While I’m honored to be presented with this award, I’m more proud to be working in a community that embraces its own heritage, while continuing to think of new ideas to lead us to a brighter future.”

City Manager Daigle was nominated by Orono Town Manager Cathy Conlow, largely for Daigle’s leadership in handling the closing of the town’s paper mill and the issues surrounding the situation. Old Town Mayor David Mahan submitted a letter of support for the nomination, noting her leadership in high profile projects including the redevelopment of the Old Town mill, and her ability to play a key role in the “smaller aspects of daily life which receive little recognition.”

Previous recipients of the leadership award include Mars Hill Manager Ray Mersereau, Lewiston Manager Phil Nadeau, and 2009 winner Stefan Pakulski of Readfield. Other 2010 award winners were Manager of the Year John Bubier of Biddeford; and Rookie of the Year Ephrem Paraschak of Denmark.

The Maine Town and City Management Association begins soliciting nominations for awards each year around the first of June. Daigle was chosen by the Associations five-member Awards and Scholarship Committee to receive the award.

No comments:

Post a Comment